Skip to content

Paid holiday

An employee shall have the right to three types of paid holidays:

a) paid holiday pertaining to a calendar year or a proportionate part thereof,

b) paid holiday for days worked,

c) supplementary paid holiday.


a) Annual paid holiday or a proportionate part thereof:

An employee who, during the continuous duration of an employment relationship with the same employer, performed work for the employer for at least 60 days in the calendar year shall be entitled to annual paid holiday, or a proportionate part thereof, unless the employment relationship lasted continuously over the whole calendar year. The basic scope of paid holiday shall be at least four weeks, aged 33 at least five weeks. The proportionate part of paid holiday for each whole calendar month of continuous duration of the same employment relationship shall be one twelfth of annual paid holiday.

b) Paid holiday for days worked:

An employee who is not entitled to annual paid holiday nor proportionate part thereof, as he/she has not performed at least 60 days of work in the calendar year with the same employer, shall be entitled to paid holiday for days worked to the extent of one twelfth of annual paid holiday for each 21days worked in the pertinent calendar year.

c) Supplementary paid holiday

An employee working underground over the whole calendar year in the extraction of minerals or driving tunnels or passages and an employee who performs particularly difficult or health-endangering work, shall be entitled to supplementary paid holiday of one week. If an employee works under such conditions for only part of the calendar year, he/she shall be entitled to one twelfth of supplementary paid holiday for each 21days so worked. Such paid holiday must be drawn preferentially.